Hawaii Counties List


Hawaii, or Hawaii, is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the Pacific Ocean and has 1,374,810 inhabitants (2011). The capital is Honolulu and the standard abbreviation for the state is HI.

Hawaii is located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean and belongs to the Polynesia region, a subregion of Oceania. The archipelago is located about 3,850 kilometers from San Francisco, in the California in the western United States.

The state consists of 137 volcanic islands, most of which are small and uninhabited. The main islands are the Hawaiian Islands. This is an archipelago made up of 19 islands.

The largest islands are Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Kaho’olawe, Maui and the largest island of the Hawaii group.

The islands were largely formed during a major eruption in the Tertiary geological line, during which volcanoes were built up on the seabed.

The weathered lava from volcanoes forms a fertile soil on the islands.

Numerous coral islands have formed on volcanoes that have not risen above the sea or have shrunk through weathering.

Coral formation also occurs on the coasts of the larger islands.

The volcanic activity on the seabed can cause the coasts to experience dangerous tidal waves from tsunamis.

These originate from the epicenters of seaquakes in the Aleutian, Atacama and Japanese Trench.

Mauna Kea
The highest volcano in Hawaii is Mauna Kea with a height of 4,205 meters.

When counting the base of this volcano, which lies at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean, Mauna Kea, with a height of 10,200 meters, is higher than Mount Everest, the highest mountain in the world.

Climate and holidays
Hawaii has a typical tropical climate, although this is tempered by the fact that the northeast trade winds blow almost all year round.

Partly under the influence of a cold sea current from the area near the Bering Strait, the climate is cooler than at other locations at the same geographical latitude.

The major tourist center is Waikiki Beach on Oahu. Many hotels are located here.

Other attractions for vacationers include Hawaii Volcanoes National Park on Hawaii and Haleakala National Park on Maui.

Cities Hawaii
In addition to the capital, Honolulu, there are a number of other cities in Hawaii: Hilo, Kailua, Kaneohe, Waipahu, Pearl City, Waimalu, Mililani, Kahului Kihei.

Counties Hawaii

According to countryaah.com, Hawaii is divided into 5 counties.

Hawaii Counties List

Pu`uhonua O Honaunau National Historical Park

On the west coast of the largest Hawaiian island, Hawaii, there is the historically valuable and sacred place of Pu’uhonua o Honaunau, whose name could literally be translated into Czech as “Sacred Refuge in Honaunau”. This place is a reminder of the traditional way of life of the original inhabitants.

Pu’uhonua o Honaunau was the former residence of the Hawaiian royal family, which consisted of several buildings hidden in a grove of coconut palms. The place had potable water and was also easily accessible – it had its own wharf. The other inhabitants of the island were separated from the royal residence by a massive wall, beyond which a mere mortal was not allowed to look. The seat of the kings was permanently inhabited for several centuries, but in 1819, King Kamehameha II let cancel traditional religious rituals, the city was destroyed and abandoned forever.

More similar stone walls were built on the islands, the first was created as early as 1550. The places acquired their sacred respect only when the remains of the kings were deposited here. For example, the remains of King Kamehameha I protected the entire area, which was defined by a large wall. This meant that blood was not allowed to be spilled in these places, so many people saw the space behind the wall as a last refuge. When someone was participating in a battle and fled to this area, they could wait here until the battle was over. Here, no one had the right to attack him, be it an enemy or a vanquished. Anyone who violated the ban on bloodshed would face the highest penalty – death. People who broke the sacred rule could also get their second chance from the priest here.

However, it was not easy to get here. People had to swim here from the sea, which was not so easy, because they had to overcome strong currents and sharp cliffs, and last but not least, they risked being attacked by sharks. When they managed to reach the shore, the priests present performed a ritual to propitiate the gods, provide absolution and the person could return home.

A few kilometers to the south is the island’s largest town, Kona. The nearby Kealakekua Bay went down in history because the famous explorer Captain James Cook died here. In the town of Captain Cook, you will find his monument. You can see sea turtles in Punalu’u Black Sand Beach, as well as in other places on the island.


About the author