Iowa Counties List


Iowa is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the Midwestern region of the US and has a population of 3,062,309 (2011). The capital is Des Moines and the standard abbreviation for the state is IA.

Iowa borders Minnesota to the north, Wisconsin and Illinois to the east, Missouri to the south, and South Dakota and Nebraska to the west.

The state belongs to the Great Plains. The state has an undulating landscape and very fertile soil.

The Great Plains, or the Central Plains, stretches east of the Rocky Mountains from Canada into Mexico

The major rivers in Iowa are the Mississippi, which forms the entire eastern border of the state, and the Des Moines, which flows into the Mississippi.

The Missouri River with its tributary the Big Sioux forms the western border of the state. Sioux City is a large city on the Missouri River.

Des Moines is located at the confluence of the Des Moines and Raccoon Rivers, in the heart of the Corn Belt.

Climate and Vacation
The climate in Iowa is continental in nature, with short cold winters and long, fairly warm summers.

Tornadoes and hail storms are most common in Iowa in the spring.

The Effigy Mounds National Monument near Marquette is a national monument. They are hills in the form of animals raised by Indians.

Natural beauty in the state includes the Iowa Great Lakes, such as Lake Okoboji, Lake Spirit, Arnolds Park.

Cities Iowa
In addition to the state capital, Des Moines, there are a number of other cities in Iowa: Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Sioux City, Waterloo, Iowa City, Council Bluffs.

Ames, Dubuque, West Des Moines, Ankeny, Urbandale, Cedar Falls, Marion, Bettendorf.

Counties Iowa

According to, Iowa is divided into 99 counties.

Iowa borders the states of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Missouri, South Dakota, and Nebraska. The state capital is Des Moins.

Iowa Counties List

Effigy Mounds National Monument

Not only in Iowa, but also in the territory of Wisconsin, Illinois and Minnesota, we can find the remains of objects that are responsible for the Native American culture called Hopewell. There are a number of mounds, the shape of which can only be seen from the air. The Indians built massive pyramids here around 300 AD, which they constantly piled on top of each other, and today they are equal in volume and number to the famous pyramids in Egypt’s Giza, but they are lower.

The most famous mound is Ohio’s Great Snake Mound measuring 405 meters and located in Adams County. It depicts a serpent with a spirally twisted tail swallowing an object, some say it is an egg, other sources say it is the Sun. The motifs found here are very similar to those found on the Nazca plains in Peru.

More than 200 of these mounds, whose age is estimated at 1000 years, have been preserved to this day. On October 25, 1949, they were declared a national monument.

Herbert Hoover National Historic Site

Herbert Clark Hoover was the thirty-first president of the United States of America from 1929 to 1933. He was the son of immigrants from Germany and Switzerland, so his original family name was Huber – but he later had it changed. Both of his parents died when Herbert was young. Therefore, at the age of nine, little Herbert left home and never returned to his hometown.

Herbert Hoover was born in the town of West Branch in 1874. His birthplace, along with his father’s blacksmith shop and the schoolhouse he attended, was declared a National Historic Landmark on June 23, 1965. The Quaker Meetinghouse, where the family used to meet with their friends, as well as the local library and museum dealing with the history of the town and Herbert’s life, are also protected. All places associated with the president’s early childhood became a national monument.

Herbert Hoover and his wife Lou Henry Hoover were buried in the town of West Branch, on a hillside overlooking their birthplace. There is a plaque near the graves that commemorates his life’s achievements.

About the author