Kentucky Counties List


Kentucky is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the north of the South region of the US and has 4,369,356 inhabitants (2011). The capital is Frankfurt and the standard abbreviation for the state is KY.

Kentucky is bordered to the north by the states of Illinois, Indiana and Ohio, to the east by West Virginia and Virginia, to the south by Tennessee and to the west by Missouri.

Kentucky Bend is a small state exclave, completely enclosed by the states of Tennessee and Missouri.

Eastern Kentucky is located in the Allegheny Mountains. To the west of this is a plateau, which consists of the Cumberland Plateau and the Pennyroyal Plateau.

Around the city of Lexington, in the north of the state, lies the undulating bluegrass area

The west of the state consists of an undulating landscape. There are swamps along the Mississippi River.

The south of the state is the most hilly. The top of Black Mountain, with an elevation of 1,262 feet, is the highest point in Kentucky.

Lakes and Rivers
The most important river in Kentucky is the Tennessee, which contains the Kentucky Dam.

The Ohio River forms the entire northern border of the state. The Mississippi makes up almost the entire western border.

There are many lakes in the state, including the large reservoirs Kentucky Lake, Lake Barkley and Lake Cumberland.

Climate and vacation
Kentucky has a moderate continental climate with warm, humid summers and cold winters.

The state is known for its many caves. A well-known cave is the very large Mammoth Cave. There are also the Diamond Caverns and the Jesse James Cave.

Other notable geological phenomena include the Natural Bridge and Gorge in the Natural Bridge Resort Park.

Tourist attractions also include the Cumberland Gap National Historical Park and the Cumberland Falls, Falls of the Ohio.

Cities Kentucky
Besides the capital Frankfort, other cities in Kentucky are: Louisville, Lexington, Bowling Green, Owensboro, Covington, Hopkinsville, Richmond, Florence, Georgetown, Henderson, Elizabethtown, Nicholasville, Jeffersontown, Paducah.

Kentucky counties
According to, the state of Kentucky in the southern United States is administratively subdivided into 120 counties.

Kentucky borders the states of Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee and Missouri. The state capital is Frankfurt.

Kentucky Counties List

About the author