Montana Counties List


Montana is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the northeast of the Western region of the US and has 989,415 inhabitants (2010). The capital is Helena and the standard abbreviation for the state is MT.

Montana borders the states of North Dakota and South Dakota to the east, Wyoming to the south, Idaho to the west and Canada to the north.

With an area of 381,156 kmĀ², Montana is the fourth largest state in the United States after Alaska, Texas and California.

The east of the state consists of a steppe-like plateau that is part of the Great Plains.

Western Montana is dominated by the Rocky Mountains. The state’s highest point, near the Wyoming border, is Granite Peak at 3,901 feet.

In the southeast corner is the rock world of the Badlands. To the west the bottom gradually rises and becomes the Rocky Mountains.

Between the Rocky Mountains and the Bitterroot Range lies a series of long and wide valleys.

Lakes and Rivers
The most important river in Montana is the Missouri, which has its source in this state. The Yellowstone River flows into the Missouri at the border with North Dakota.

Major lakes in Montana include Fort Peck Lake and Flathead Lake.

Climate and holidays
Montana is divided into two climatically distinct regions by the Rocky Mountains.

The state is protected in the west by the mountains and has a fairly even temperature with a lot of precipitation.

The semi-arid eastern part of Montana is exposed to fierce and cold winds from Canada. The winters are very cold, the summers sometimes very hot.

For vacationers, Montana is extremely rich in natural beauty. Glacier National Park is sometimes referred to as ‘the Switzerland of America’.

In addition, part of the Yellowstone National Park is located in the state.

Montana has a large number of ski resorts for practicing winter sprat.

Cities Montana
Besides the capital Helena and the largest city Billings are some other cities in Montana: Missoula, Great Falls, Bozeman, Butte, Kalispell, Havre.

Montana counties
The American Montana is administratively subdivided into 56 counties.

Montana borders the states of North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, and Idaho. To the north, the state borders Canada. The capital is Helena.

Montana Counties List

Big Hole National Battlefield

The Big Hole is a National Historic Battlefield located in the state of Montana in the United States of America. On August 9 and 10, 1877, the Nez Perce Indian tribe led by Chief Joseph and the Seventh Regiment of the American Cavalry clashed here.

This battle was one of the largest that took place between this Indian tribe and the American government. This happened during a 5 month long conflict known as the Nez Perce War. In the past, the Nez Perce Indian tribe owned territory covering the area of present-day Oregon, Washington and Idaho. In 1873, an Indian chief negotiated with the federal government about the possibilities of coexistence between Indians and white settlers.

It was primarily about allowing the tribal people to stay on their lands in the Wallowa Valley. This the government allowed them, but in 1877 there was a reversal of policy and General Oliver O. Howard threatened to attack if the Indians did not move to the reservation in Idaho. The territory that was demarcated to the Nez Perce was only a small fraction of what they had previously owned and they greatly disliked that.

Nevertheless, Chief Joseph agreed to this and tried to move to the reservation without conflict. A few Indian warriors could not accept such humiliation and the loss of their homeland and secretly attacked and massacred the settlement of white immigrants. Fearing retribution, Chief Joseph decided it was best to try to escape to Canada, but failed. In the end, after all, the Indians clashed with the American troops and there were numerous battles. After the Battle of the Big Hole, the surviving Indians fled north through Yellowstone National Park. However, many of them were caught by the American army in October 1877, less than 65 km from the Canadian border. Only about 150 members of the Nez Perce tribe got behind her.

The area has been part of the National Historic Park since 1992, which includes a total of 38 separate sites in five different American states. The National Battlefield is spread over 265 hectares, 10 miles from the town of Wisdom, located near Montana State Highway 43. The park has a visitor center that is open year-round. The battlefield is managed by the National Park Service and has been on the National Register of Historic Places since October 15, 1966.

About the author