New York Counties List

New York

New York is one of the 50 states of the United States. The state is located in the Northeastern region of the US and has a population of 19,465,197 (2011). The capital is Albany and the standard abbreviation for the state is NY.

New York is bordered to the south by the states of Pennsylvania and New Jersey and to the east by Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont. In the north, the state borders Canada.

The city of New York is also located in the state. To distinguish between the state and the city, reference is made to the designations New York State and New York City.

The islands of Staten Island and Long Island are virtually flat.

East of the Hudson River are the foothills of the Green Mountains and the Taconic Mountains.

The Palisades and Shawangunk Range stretch along the west side of the Hudson.

The Adirondack Mountains, of which Mount Marcy is the state’s highest point at 1,629 meters, covers most of northeastern New York.

The western parts of New York state consist of a hilly plateau, which together with the Catskill Mountains in the southeast are part of the Appalachian Mountains.

The plateau turns into the plain along the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence.

Many waterfalls arose along plateau edges, of which the Niagara Falls are the best known.

Lakes and Rivers
New York State has about 8,000 lakes. Important rivers are Lake Erie and Lake Ontario. The large Lake Champlain forms part of the border with the state of Vermont.

The main river is the Hudson. The Hudson rises in the state and flows into the Atlantic Ocean near New York City.

Climate and holidays
The state of New York largely has a continental climate with hot summers and cold winters.

The contrasts are smaller along Lake Erie, Lake Ontario and the Atlantic coast.

In addition to the urban areas, the state has a lot of varied natural beauty. An important attraction for a holiday are the many lakes.

Niagara Falls, on the border with Canada, are also very popular with tourists.

The people of the city of New York can visit the Palisades Interstate Park, one of the more than 80 state parks in the state.

The beaches along the coast of Long Island (Coney Island), Staten Island and New Rochelle are also favorite locations for recreation.

The main islands are Manhattan, Long Island and Staten Island.

Cities New York
In the state of New York, in addition to the capital Albany, there are a number of important cities: New York City, Buffalo, Rochester, Yonkers, Syracuse, New Rochelle, Mount Vernon, Schenectady, Utica.

New York counties
According to, the American state of New York is administratively subdivided into 62 counties.

New York
New York borders the states of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont. To the north, the state borders Canada. The capital is Albania.

New York Counties List

Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site

Theodore Roosevelt Jr. he was the 26th president of the United States of America and belonged to the most prominent figures of the American political scene. He was born on October 27, 1858, into a wealthy and influential New York family, and became president at the age of 42 after his predecessor, President William McKinley, was assassinated. To this day, he is the youngest president to ever lead the USA.

Theodore Roosevelt attended Harvard University where he studied natural sciences. After graduating from university, he threw himself into politics as a member of the Republican Party. In March 1901, he became vice president and six months later replaced the assassinated President McKinley in the highest office. He thus became the head of the White House very unexpectedly. Liberals worshiped Theodore Roosevelt, conservatives rejected. As the 26th president, he struggled to resolve many difficult domestic and international political conflicts.

Roosevelt spent two terms in Washington, during which he tried to elevate US foreign policy in the world. At that time, the USA also gained a dominant position in the whole of Latin America. He also showed great efforts in ending the Russo-Japanese War, for which he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1906 as the first American.

The Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site is located at 641 Delaware Avenue in Buffalo, New York. Specifically, it is the Ansley Wilcox house, where Theodore Roosevelt took the presidential oath on September 14, 1901 and entered the office of president. The inauguration had to be carried out immediately due to the tragic death of the previous president. The inauguration was attended by approximately 50 dignitaries, family members and many officials, led by Federal Judge John R. Hazel.


About the author