North Carolina Counties List

North Carolina

North Carolina is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the Southern region of the US and has 9,656,401 inhabitants (2011). The capital is Raleigh and the standard abbreviation for the state is NC.

North Carolina, also called North Carolina in Dutch, borders the state of Virginia in the north, Tennessee in the west and Georgia and South Carolina in the south.

In the east, the state lies on the Atlantic Ocean.

Along the coast of the state are numerous deep coves with extensive lagoons.

To the northeast is the Great Dismal Swamp. This swamp area extends into Virginia.

Beyond the coastal plain lies the Piedmont Plateau. This is an undulating area with a height of 60 to 500 meters.

The western part of the state consists of the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Great Smoky Mountains. These mountain ranges are part of the Appalachians.

Mount Mitchell, with a height of 2,037 meters, is the highest point in North Carolina and the entire eastern United States.

The Blue Ridge) is a mountain range in the eastern United States that is part of the Appalachian Mountains. The Blue Ridge runs from Georgia to Pennsylvania.

Most rivers in North Carolina flow into the Atlantic Ocean. A number of rivers that originate in the Blue Ridge Mountains belong to the Mississippi River Basin.

Climate and holidays
North Carolina has a maritime climate in the east. The marine climate in the southeast is of the subtropical type.

The western part of the state has a continental climate, but without the excessive temperature differences found in the midwestern United States.

Subtropical storms can occur in the coastal area of North Carolina.

Major tourist attractions in North Carolina are the beaches and the mountainous regions.

The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, which is partly located in the state of Tennessee, attracts many visitors.

There are also state parks, such as Cape Lookout and Cape Hatteras National Seashores.

North Carolina Cities
Besides the capital Raleigh and the largest city of the state Charlotte are a number of other cities in North Carolina: Greensboro, Durham, Winston-Salem.

Fayetteville, Cary, Wilmington, High Point, Greenville, Asheville, Concord, Gastonia, Jacksonville.

North Carolina counties
According to, the American state of North Carolina is divided into 100 counties.

North Carolina
The state of North Carolina, in the southeastern United States, borders the states of Virginia, Tennessee, Georgia and South Carolina. The capital is Raleigh.

North Carolina Counties List

Trail Of Tears National Historic Trail

The original inhabitants of Arkansas, Georgia and other areas of North America were the Cherokee Indians, whose culture was among the most advanced in this part of America. The members of this tribe were mainly engaged in agriculture and their culture was so developed that they even had their own writing. At the beginning of the 19th century, these Indians were granted the status of a sovereign nation that had its own rights and obligations and was completely self-sufficient.

In 1838, during the administration of President Andrew Jackson, they were all forcibly removed to Oklahoma. The route they had to take involuntarily was called the Trail of Tears. It was an arduous march for a new home to an unknown landscape, to nowhere, during which more than 5,000 members of the tribe perished. Thanks to this inhumane act, the USA was able to seize more territory and greatly expand its land.

Those who were more fortunate managed to flee to the mountains and find a peaceful place to live. Their descendants live today in the number of several thousand individuals on the Qualla Indian Reservation. Here you will find an informational tourist center where you can get to know the life of simple Indians who achieved great cultural and general education for their time, and for which they paid in the end. There is even an Indian Village in the Oconaluftee area today.


About the author