Rhode Island Counties List

Rhode Island

Rhode Island is officially called The State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. It is a state in the Northeastern region of the United States with 1,051,302 inhabitants (2011). The capital is Providence and the standard abbreviation for the state is RI.

With an area of 4,005 kmĀ², Rhode Island is the smallest of the fifty states of America.

The state is bordered to the north and east by Massachusetts and to the west by Connecticut. The state borders New York’s Long Island to the southwest by water. To the east is Rhode Island on the Atlantic Ocean.

Most of the state of Rhode Island is located on the mainland. In addition, there are the islands of Rhode Island, Prudence Island, and Conanicut Island.

Off the coast of the state are Block Island Sound and Rhode Island Sound.

Block Island, located about 20 kilometers off the coast, is named after the Dutch explorer Adriaen Block. He visited the island in 1614.

Rhode Island is located on either side of Narragansett Bay. The mainland is part of the Piedmont, the eastern plateau rim of the Appalachian Mountains.

To the west, Durfee Hill, 242 meters high, and Jerimoth Hill, 244 meters high, are the highest points of the riverine plateau.

Along the rocky coast of Rhode Island, broad stretches of sand have been deposited and lagoons have formed.

The main dam, the Kent Dam is a major dam that backs up the large Scituate Reservoir into the Pawtuxet River.

Climate and Vacation
Rhode Island has a dry continental climate, with warm, rainy summers and cold winters.

Its location by the sea has a moderating influence on the climate, but due to the westerly wind, which carries continental air, it is hot in summer and cold in winter.

Rhode Island attracts many tourists for its beautiful beaches along the coast and on Block Island.

Newport is known for its beautiful 19th-century country houses, the Jazz Festival and yacht races.

Cities Rhode Island
Besides the capital Providence, the largest cities in Rhode Island are: Warwick, Cranston, Pawtucket, East Providence, Woonsocket, Coventry.

Cumberland, North Providence, South Kingstown, West Warwick, Johnston, North Kingstown, Newport, Bristol.

Rhode island counties
According to countryaah.com, the American state of Rhode Island is divided into five counties. These are Bristol, Kent, Newport, Providence and Washington.

Rhode Island Counties List

About the author