Tennessee Counties List


Tennessee is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the Southern region of the US and has 6,346,105 inhabitants (2010). The capital is Nashville and the standard abbreviation for the state is TN.

Tennessee borders the states of Kentucky and Virginia to the north, Missouri to the northwest, North Carolina to the east, Mississippi, Alabama and Georgia to the south, and Arkansas to the southwest.

Eastern Tennessee is located in the Appalachian Mountains. The Clingmans Dome, with a height of 2,025 meters, is the highest point in the state here.

This section is also known as the Great Smoky Mountains. The west of the state is flatter.

Tennessee is divided into six different areas, the first three of which belong to East Tennessee:

The first area is the eastern mountain region along the eastern border, which is formed for the most part by the Unaka and Great Smoky Mountains, which are part of the Appalachian Mountains.

The second area is the 50-100 kilometer wide valley of the southwesterly flowing Upper Tennessee and its tributaries.

In the west, the valley changes abruptly into the Cumberland Plateau, which is approximately 350 meters higher. This plateau is also part of the Appalachians.

The fourth part is a lower, almost flat area. This is the Highland Rim, which occupies much of central Tennessee.

The Highland Rim saves in the middle an elliptical low plain lying about 125 meters deeper. This is the fertile Nashville Basin.

The sixth area is West Tennessee. This part of the state consists of an undulating plain that spans the area between the Tennessee and Mississippi Rivers. At the edge of the Mississippi Valley is a range of hills, the Bluffs.

The Mississippi has created numerous dead arms, bayou, and swamps here.

Lakes and Rivers
The most important rivers are the Tennessee and the Cumberland. The Mississippi forms the border with Missouri and Arkansas.

The state has a large number of reservoirs, such as Watts Barlake, Chickamauga Lake, Kentucky Lake, Lake Barkley, Old Hickory Lake, Dale Hollow Lake..

Climate and Vacation
Most of the state of Tennessee has a humid subtropical climate. This is a climate that shares characteristics with a continental climate and with a subtropical and, or tropical climate.

One of the most popular tourist spots in the state is the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Furthermore, there are a large number of natural caves.

The cities of Nashville and Memphis are popular with tourists for their music. Numerous historical monuments recall the American Civil War.

Other major tourist attractions include the Tennessee Aquarium in Chattanooga, the Sunsphere in Knoxville, and Elvis Presley’s Graceland in Memphis.

Cities Tennessee
In addition to the capital Nashville, some other major cities in Tennessee are: Chattanooga, Clarksville, Knoxville, Memphis, Murfreesboro, Bartlett, Brentwood, Bristol.

Cleveland, Collierville, Columbia, Cookeville, Franklin, Germantown, Hendersonville, Jackson, Johnson City, Kingsport, Morristown, Oak Ridge.

Tennessee counties
According to countryaah.com, the southern American state of Tennessee is administratively subdivided into 95 counties.

Tennessee Counties List

The state of Tennessee, in the southern United States, borders the states of Kentucky, Virginia, Missouri, North Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Arkansas. The capital is Nashville.

Tennessee Civil War National Heritage Area

In 1784, Congress was offered the western territory of North Carolina, which the local settlers did not like, and they therefore created their own so-called Franklin State. In 1789, the area was officially separated from North Carolina, and eight years later the independent state of Tennessee was established.

Before the Civil War, many residents of this state sympathized with the Union, but even before the war actually broke out, deep divisions began to emerge in the country. In the War of 1812, a number of citizens gained fame for Tennessee, and during the Civil War, Tennessee became the most important battlefield after Virginia. The reorganization of the state was not in any way aggressive and violent, but nevertheless, in 1865, the white organization Ku-Klux-Klan was formed here, which was directed against fellow citizens from the ranks of blacks.

The 1930s and 1940s saw big changes for Tennessee. Mainly, the Tennesee Valley hydropower system was built, which changed the entire face of the state. It eliminated flooding and accelerated industrial development. At the same time, with its development, the dependence on agriculture, which prevailed here until then, ended. Cheap energy enabled the development of other areas of industry – the production of aluminum and non-ferrous metals, the chemical, glass and electronic industries. Services, trade and tourism are also not a negligible item.

Currently, Tennessee is home to the Tennessee Civil War National Monument, which tells the entire story of this state during the Civil War between 1860 and 1875. The purpose of this place is to preserve the legacy and legacy of the Civil War and to acquaint visitors with its aftermath. The protected historic area covers the territory of the entire state of Tennessee and is managed by Historic Preservation at Middle Tennessee State University. Not only historic battlefields, but also historic houses, museums, cemeteries, churches, and city neighborhoods that are somehow connected to the Civil War are under protection.

About the author