Vermont Counties List


Vermont is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the Northeast region of the US and has 626,431 inhabitants (2011). The capital is Montpelier and the standard abbreviation for the state is VT.

Vermont borders New Hampshire to the east, Massachusetts to the south and New York state to the west.

The state borders Canada’s Canadian province to the north.

Vermont is part of the New England subregion of the Northeastern United States region.

The main river in the state is the Connecticut. This forms the entire border with New Hampshire. Lake Champlain forms much of the border with New York State.

Most of Vermont is located in geologically ancient mountain formations, the Green Mountains. These mountains are part of the Appalachian Mountains. The summit of Mount Mansfield is the highest point in Vermont at 1,339 feet.

The Taconic Mountains form a high plateau-like partition in the southwest to the low-lying Valley and Ridge area.

More than half of Vermont is covered in forest.

Lakes and Rivers
Southwestern Vermont is part of the Hudson River basin, the east part of Connecticut, and the rest of the St. Lawrence.

The state has about 330 lakes. Most of these were created by glaciation and deposition in moraines in the Pleistocene.

The main lakes are Lake Willoughby, Dunmore, Bomoseen, Whitingham, St. Catharine and Memphremagog.

Climate and Vacation
The climate in Vermont consists of short and cool summers and long winters. Most rain falls in July and September. Much precipitation falls in the form of snow.

Vermont offers many vacation options for fishing, golfing, and skiing. Green Mountain National Forest covers over 2,000 km2 of the Green Mountains.

In Bennington, a battle in the Freedom War is remembered.

Cities Vermont
Besides the capital Montpelier and the largest city Burlington are a number of other cities in Vermont: South Burlington, Rutland, Barre, Winooski, St. Albans, Newport, Vergennes.

Vermont counties
According to, the US state of Vermont is administratively divided into 14 counties. Unlike in other states, county capitals are not called county seat but shire town.

The counties of Essex, Orleans and Caledonia are collectively known as the Northeast Kingdom.

The counties in Vermont are Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Rutland, Washington, Windham, and Windsor.

Vermont Counties List

Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park

Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Park is located in Woodstock County in the US state of Vermont. Founded by Frederick Billings, the park protects extensive forests as well as the successful and progressive dairy farms located within its territory. The name of the park is derived not only from the name of its founder Billings, but also from two other owners of the land here.

Those owners were George Perkins Marsh and Laurence Rockefeller. The Rockefellers left their property to the federal government in 1992, so the park is currently managed by the state. George Perkins Marsh was a writer and also the first person to become more involved in environmental protection in Vermont. His most famous work is “Man and Nature” from 1864. The park’s founder, Frederick Billings, also lived in the 19th century and was a lawyer and railroad entrepreneur.

This national park is the only natural Vermont system that extends into the territory of neighboring American states. In addition, the famous Appalachian Trail passes through here. The original farms that operated on the territory of the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Park were opened for tourist purposes in 1983. In them, people can learn about the rural past of the area. It is a kind of museum under the open sky.


About the author