New Hampshire Counties List

New Hampshire

New Hampshire is one of the 50 states of the United States of North America. The state is located in the Northeastern region of the US and has 1,318,194 inhabitants (2011). The capital is Concord and the standard abbreviation for the state is NH.

New Hampshire is located to the east by the state of Maine, to the south by Massachusetts and to the west by Vermont. The state is located in the New England subregion of the Northeastern region of the United States.

In the southeast, the state has a coastline of 25 kilometers with the Atlantic Ocean. To the north, New Hampshire borders Canada.

Large parts of the state are mountainous and hilly. About a quarter of New Hampshire is taken up by the White Mountains, in central New Hampshire.

Mount Washington, with a height of 1,917 meters, is the highest point in the state here.

The mountain ranges, which run mainly from north to south, are a continuation of the Appalachian Mountains.

In the southeastern part of the state, the New England Uplands merge into a coastal plain.

Lakes and Rivers
The main rivers are the Connecticut River and the Merrimack. The Merrimack is channeled upstream to Concord.

In addition to the Merrimack, the south is drained by the Piscataqua and its tributary the Cocheco. The Androscoggin takes care of the drainage of the northeast.

New Hampshire has more than 1,300 lakes. Lake Winnipesaukee is the largest lake.

Climate and holidays
New Hampshire has a humid continental climate. The climate has moderately warm summers, severe winters and generally very changeable weather.

The beautiful nature of New Hampshire is a major tourist attraction.

Popular locations for vacationers include the beaches, the Lake Winnipesaukee Lake District, the White Mountains with Mount Washington, and Crafword Motch and Franconia Motch State Parks.

Cities New Hampshire
Besides the capital Concord are a number of other cities in New Hampshire: Berlin, Claremont, Franklin, Keene, Laconia, Lebanon, Manchester, Nashua, Portsmouth, Rochester.

New Hampshire counties
New Hampshire geographically borders the states of Maine, Massachusetts, and Vermont. To the north, New Hampshire borders Canada. The state is located in the southeast on the Atlantic Ocean.

According to, the state of New Hampshire is administratively divided into 10 counties. These are Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Coos, Grafton, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham, Strafford and Sullivan.

New Hampshire Counties List

About the author